Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

So in the spirit of creativity …here is my KLD projects + tips I have created….

#1 KLD Tag Birthday Card with a twist:

I appreciate the versatility of tools– and the KLD tiny Tags and Tags templates serve that purpose. I used the KLD Tags 4 and Tiny Tags 4T, Paper: October Afternoon 5&Dime Root Beer Barrels, Twinery Twine in Maraschino, Technique Tuesday Simply You clear stamp (“You Are Simply the Best”), Fiskars All Year Greetings/Salutations clear stamp (“Hello”), Inkadinkado Birthday Wish clear stamp (“Happy Bday”) Fiskars For the Birds clear stamp (“happiness”), Scor-Buddy, Scissors, a pencil, daubers, ink (I used brown).

First I traced the KLD Tag 4 without spacing across the paper:

Once they are traced, I cut them out and score it down the line (I erased the lines after I scored them). I then folded the paper in an accordion fashion…

I then used a plain red stock paper, and cut a KLD 4T to paste in the front, I used a circle puncher to cut the designs from the paper and paste along the card w/ pop up dots and plain double sided tape

Finally I stamped across the card as below and added a sentiment…

And finally I tied twine around the card and secured the twine with tape

#2 KLD Mini Album Pages

I used the mini KLD templates for the first two pages Paisley 2B, Strips 1 inch, Mini photo 3×3, 2×2, Tiny Wildflower 2T and for the third page Floral 1T, 3×3 photo template. The paper is DCWV Nana’s Nursery Baby Girl stack, Twinery Twine in Pink Sorbet.

The KLD templates make it so easy to coordinate pages/colors, etc.

For the third page, I dressed up the Floral 1T cut out with Twinery Twine and a button:

In order to adhere the twine ^^ I used a circle punch cut and ran it through the Xyron Sticker maker. I glued the non-adherent portion down with double stick glue and wrapped the twine in a circular motion. I then added a button in the middle– but you can also add glitter, a gem, an embellishment or just finish it with the twine.

The epoxy-like embellishment is a stamp that I then cut out and adhered with pop up dots. I covered the entire area with Glossy Accents (you can find this at any Joanns/Michaels) and let that set for 24 hrs.

# 3 KLD Tags Christmas Banner

The best part of KLD Tags vs. dies/cut files that I find, is that I can make the best use of my paper (less scrap paper/less trash). For the Christmas banner, I used the KLD Tags 5 template, double side tape, Martha Stewart glitter in Garnet, Me & My Big Ideas Sassy Alphabet clear stamp, Autumn Leaves ‘Tis the season clear stamps (snow flake & tree), Stamp n Stuff embossing powder in Gold, Versa Fine ink in Onyx Black, Making Memories eyelets in gold, Twinery Twine in Maraschino & Peapod, and for tools I used scissors, Crop-a-dile, and heat tool for the embossing.

To start I traced my templates on a 8.5×11 card stock sheet and was able to get x5 tags from it (the size was slightly smaller on 2 of the tags, but so slight you literally can’t tell the difference)

I then punched a hole in each tag and placed a gold eyelet in each. I then stamped the words “Joy” with VersaFine ink on three of the tags and snowflakes and a tree on the other two tags that I embossed with gold embossing powder…

I then lined the tags with double sided tape as so:

Removing the tape and adding the glue is a piece of cake, and it leaves for nice clean edges. Since I wanted to let the embossed images stand alone…I inked the edges with black ink

I tied Peapod twine to a loose bow on each tag and then ran Maraschino twine through each bow making a knot at each bow along the way so the tags are secured

And here is the final product:

#4 “Mermaid Costume Scales” you say?

Yes, Halloween is over…but I am planning next year’s costume now- mainly because it is a long work in progress. I bought a plain mermaid costume that I can customize– so for this costume I will be adding scales by using the KLD Scallops 3B & Strips 3 inch templates.

I first taped the 3 inch strip template to the Scallop 3B template with scoth tape

I then laid down my templates on the fabric and traced and cut my pattern

I then added my pattern to the costume (as below)…I will be adding sequin to the bottom of the pattern to make the scale-like pattern pop (but more updates of this project will be up as I go along). I will be covering the entire “tail” with scales…

WHEW!!! That’s all my KLD projects…I hope you enjoyed them and are inspired to work with them. Please leave any comments for suggestions…I am definitely open to them!
-Jenny

