Tags

, , , , ,

I don’t know about you…but I’m always on the look out for good adhesive. Adhesive is as important as the paper you use (in my opinion anyway). I feel I have this beautiful paper and a project in mind…but I better have good adhesive to make it happen. Its like mac to cheese!

Adhesive comes in so many different shapes and sizes…but for now I’m going to compare five different adhesive runners:

#1 Scotch Advanced Tape Glider (ATG)

#2 Xyron Mega Runner: Teresa Collins Edition

#3 Scrapbook Adhesive MyStik

#4 Snake Tape

#5 Scrapbook Adhesives E-Z Squares

Disclaimer: This is my personal opinion, thoughts and experience with these adhesive runners. I have no affiliation to any of theses companies. Also, you may have a completely different opinion and experience than me (in case anyone is yelling at the computer telling me how wrong I am hahaha). So let’s get started…

Image

#1 Scotch Advanced Tape Glider (ATG)

The very common and famous ATG! I finally caved several months ago and decided to see what the hype was about– it kinda put me off for so long because of the size but here is my breakdown:

PROS:

  • The adhesive is truly permanent– reminding me of red tape. You’re project will definitely hold up.
  • Glides on like butter with easy control by holding the button down when you want the rollers to release and move. You just need to release the button when you want it to stop
  • Adhesive rolls are large that you don’t need to worry about running out of adhesive in the middle of a crop or project.

CONS:

  • The size of the ATG can become heavy after some time that I have reached out for my handheld runner for a break.
  • Trying to open that clear lid to load the initial adhesive roll was ridiculously tough I almost gave up and thought I had a malfunctioned unit. Once it opened, I had no problem closing and opening the unit since…kinda odd.
  • Loading the unit can be a bit confusing…so I turned to trusty YouTube for some direction:  http://youtu.be/sa142lbemrc
  • It can be a bit pricey ($39.99) [but you can use your coupon at Joann’s or Michaels and Amazon has it right under $20]
  • It can be a bit difficult to get the adhesive on a straight line since the rubber rollers are larger than the width of the glue, allowing for movement
  • Although I am right handed… I have read that it is quite difficult for left handed individuals
  • The adhesive roll pulls and I have needed to open the unit to re-roll it several times

Image

#2 Xyron Mega Runner: Teresa Collins Edition

Xyron is well known for adhesive so I was extremely excited to try a Xyron runner only to sadly say I was a little disappointed.

PROS:

  • It is lightweight and the adhesive roll size is decent to definitely last
  • There is a cap to cover the adhesive– making it easy to carry around and not worry about lint/paper getting stuck on your runner
  • Wider adhesive strip vs ATG
  • Stylish! Very cute and of course it’s Teresa Collins!

CONS:

Ok I seriously wish I would love this runner more than I do…I was hoping this would be my go to runner…but alas, here are the issues I have:

  • You have to hold the runner at 45 degrees or higher and move slowly across the paper if you want your adhesive to be even and not patchy. When you go a bit fast and/or hold the runner lower, you will have inconsistent and patchy adhesive on your project.
  • The adhesive is not permanent! Why?! This was the biggest let down. In the night and days after I made a mini album, the paper started coming off from so many pages I had to use other adhesive to re-stick several portions of my project.

photo 3

#3 Scrapbook Adhesive MyStik

Scrapbook Adhesive EZ Runner is the exact same formulation as the MyStik in red.

PROS:

  • individual strips of adhesive allowing for versatility in your project
  • glides on smoothly!
  • Permanent adhesive…although its permanent I can quickly lift up my paper if I made a mistake and adjust it quickly (this is a pro for me)
  • Ability to customize your runner
  • Lightweight and small

CONS:

  • Refillable isn’t always a con; however, the refills are not very environmentally friendly because it still requires an entire plastic unit vs a drop in roll
  • You definitely run out at crops because of the size

photo 4

#4 Snake Tape

This is a fairly new company to me that I found on Scrapbook Steals. This adhesive is the cheapest from this list and the company stands behind its product by offering 12 months free replacement if you experience any quality issues http://www.snaketape.com/

PROS:

  • Affordable
  • Glides on smoothly
  • Strong adhesive bond
  • Company stands behind their product

CONS:

  • As you lift the runner the adhesive clings from the project to the runner at which point you need to pull the runner higher and it will snap back to the project or you can also run your finger in between (sticky finger alert!)
  • There are three different Snake Tapes: Garter, Viper and Black Anaconda… essentially its the same exact adhesive. The only difference is the length with the Garter being the shortest and the Anaconda being the longest. This was confusing when I bought it from Scrapbook steals…and then I thought…why would I want such an itty bitty runner (i.e., Garter) when I ran out of the Anaconda at a crop. I run out of the Garter in a sneeze

photo 5

#5 Scrapbook Adhesives E-Z Squares

This runner is from the same company as the MyStik. I love that they color-code the difference between the EZ Runner (above/red) and this E-Z Square Runner.

PROS:

  • Permanent adhesive
  • Compact and easy to carry

CONS:

  • The squares limit you that specific size…which I find more beneficial when I wrap candy bars not scrapbooking

photo(2)

So after all is said and done… I prefer the MyStik EZ Runner for scrapbooking pages first, then the ATG. For cards I like the Snake Tape and Xyron Mega Runner (only because I am afraid that if I use it for my projects the adhesive will come apart). The EZ Square Runner I will only use to wrap candy bars. I would love to find one perfect adhesive runner that will be the end all be all…but my quest continues.

Please let me know if you have any adhesive runner suggestions…I am open to trying new ones.

