Tags

, , , , ,

I am a huge sucker for pens…I don’t know what it is but I would love school shopping as a kid for pens. Recently I have been frustrated with the quality of pens & considering the cost of them I decided to share my thoughts with my fellow scrapbookers 🙂

1. American Crafts:
A. Precision Pen-

PRODUCT DESCRIPTION-The variety of precision fine tips and popular colors of pigment ink make this the perfect pen for journaling or general purpose writing. Non bleeding and waterproof for a permanent and acid free finish.

The sizes vary from 03, 05, 08 & 10. I bought a good sized pack less than 2 years ago & the majority of the pens have dried up. I write a journaling card here & there but I have not used them extensively to have used up the ink & if I did that is a ridiculously small amount of ink. When they write they work great but…I would give these a 6 out of 10 in quality.

B. Galaxy Markers-

The opaque paint like inks in these markers create a hand painted look without the offensive odor of paint markers. They are non-toxic; acid free; non-bleeding and permanent on most porous surfaces. Write with no mess on both light and dark paper; foam; wood and other surfaces.

Ok…since day one of getting these markers I had to toss out a few from the pack because they were dried out already. Several were not pigmented enough. Very few actually provided the quality that the product description above stated & when I got one that worked it was fabulous. These come in Fine, Medium & Bold sizing.

C. Slick Writers

Quick dry ink and a durable acrylic tip make this the ideal marker for writing on any surface including both sides of photos, stickers, ribbon, vellum, metal, glass and transparencies. Photo safe, acid free, non toxic and waterproof ink goes on smoothly to leave an even coat of permanent, transparent color.

These worked great! You can write on stickers and they dry quickly much better than Sharpies on slick surfaces. Used them two weeks ago…went to use them today and the tip was crusted & the marker dried up. Total bummer! These come in Fine, Medium & Bold sizing.

2. Martha Stewart Crafts

0.5mm writing pens. Acid free. Archival quality.

Seriously these are so great! They are consistent in pigment, smooth. I just wish the pen tip would be offered in bigger sizing.

3. Zig Memory System

Zig offers the best range of fine line markers for scrapbooks. The acid-free, archival-quality, pure pigment colors stand the test of time, so that your precious memories can be preserved for future generations. The ink is lightfast, odorless, xylene free, fadeproof, and non-bleeding.

These come in a variety of sizing. The one pictured is dual ended (0.5 mm & 1.2 mm). I bought these eons ago when I first started scrapbooking about 12 years ago. Yes 12 years! They are still smooth, pigmented & definitely stand the test of time.

MY PICK: Zig & Martha Stewart

Please let me know what your thoughts are…I would love to read the opinion of others.

20130611-001916.jpg

